Canine Experts on Sabbath Rest

My dogs, Jupiter and Biscuit, teach me a lot about life…but perhaps one of the best lessons they teach me is about “rest.” As an overfunctioner/anxious person, I tend to not “rest” well. My dogs teach me the importance of taking time out to intentionally rest and play. This morning on our walk we stopped by the Lighthouse Beach and ran around with the dogs. I even put my feet in the 71 degree chilly water. And we took a few moments to sit still, enjoy the cool breeze and the sand in our toes, and sit in glorious wonder of the beauty of Creation.

Our God is an awesome God indeed.

Thanks be to the One who restores our souls and renews our spirits.
Thanks be to the One who created these furry little creatures who remind us to play and rest.

“And I rest in the shelter of Your love
And I rest in the wonder of Your Grace
And I rest in the shelter of Your love
And I rest in the wonder of You…” -“Rest” by Skillet

