cheeseI am a fast eater. I always have been, and it is SUCH a bad habit to break! I’ve really been trying to be more conscious of what I put in my body, and taking longer to eat instead of rushing. The other day I got a small block of expensive Wisconsin Cheddar cheese from the fancy cheese section of the grocery store (to go with my healthy tuna salad) and taking one small bite stopped me in my tracks.

SO. DELICIOUS. Like, it was so delicious I didn’t want it to ever leave my mouth.

If everything tasted as good as this cheese, I’d never have a problem eating slow because I’d want to savor every.single.bite. Yet, I gulped down the tuna salad like it was nothing. Why do we do that? Why do we rush eating? I wasn’t in any hurry. I was working while eating, which apparently you’re not supposed to do. But that CHEESE…each small bite opened up a world of wonder and awe that I wanted MORE of.jupiter_beachclai

I walk fast, too. I find slow leisurely walking to be tedious and unnecessary. Yet, when I take my dogs out, they constantly remind me to S L O W  D O W N  and take delight in creation. Living near Lake Michigan helps. Walking near the water makes me want to slow down, survey the endlessness that is the water, and breathe deep.

My piano teacher used to laugh at me when I’d play through a song I didn’t know for the first time, totally rushing everything, without regard to the dynamics and tempo markings. In my immaturity I had no sense of slowing down, no sense of capturing the intense passion of each beat. Claire de Lune is quite possibly one of the most difficult songs I ever learned as an adolescent…because it was

S    O    .    S    L   O   W

compared to everything else I was playing. I remember having to listen to it while I practiced to avoid rushing. When I finally got it, it was so captivating, drawing me into a trance.

 

What causes you to stop, savor the moment, and breathe deeply?

 

