I made dinner tonight. I don’t normally cook, because Jonathan actually enjoys it, so I let him. But he’s been super busy writing papers (and will be for a few weeks) so I stepped up.

I only enjoy cooking if I can be creative. I don’t follow recipes well. But I enjoy cooking when I can pretend like it’s art.  So I did.

While I was washing dishes I envisioned a stuffed portobello mushroom filled with veggies (because we’re TRYING to be healthier). So I looked up several different stuffed mushroom recipes to make sure I wasn’t completely off base, and went to the store and spent WAY longer than I normally do in the veggie section (I feel like that alone should cut off 5 pounds….#amiright )

I brushed the mushroom caps with a little olive oil, a tiny sprinkle of salt, and a tiny splash of balsamic vinaigrette dressing. I put them in a dish to wait while I prepared the veggies.

I cut up half a red pepper, half a jalapeno, a roma tomato, a large handful of spinach, and put them on low heat while I added some oregano (we were out of garlic salt), a tiny bit of spicy mustard and a tiny bit of worcestershire sauce. I added a little feta in too (because I LOVE cheese!).

I filled the mushroom caps with the veggies and sprinkled a bit of mozzarella on top. I put them in at 450 for 10 minutes and…

IMG_3060.2014-04-28_225948WOW! They were SO DELICIOUS! And SO pretty! and SO filling! And I want to think that they were also healthy.

I put them on a small bit of whole wheat thin spaghetti and added a splash of balsamic vinaigrette dressing.

Delish. I win dinner.

 

What are some easy, quick, healthy food combinations you like? (please share!)

 

 

