This morning Jonathan and I woke up when my alarm went off at 8:30am. We were in no real hurry to get ready. We leisurely went about our morning routines with plenty of time to spare when our friend Kate arrived to depart for brunch. We rode the train down to Andersonville and walked a mile to this hip brunch spot recommended to us by some new friends of ours. When we got there at 10:20am, the wait was 50 minutes. By the time we got a table, there were twice as many people waiting for one than when we first got there. I knew it was a good sign when I went to the bathroom and the place was filled with heavenly aromas of bacon, eggs, cheese, and sugar. We got our food around 11:50am. I ordered the White Chocolate Pretzel Caramel Pancakes…because, well, when you have the opportunity to order such a thing, a “breakfast burrito” doesn’t sound as appealing. Jonathan got some blackberry lemon hotcakes and our friend Kate got an omelette so we could all share and have some protein with our sugar rush.

Candyversary, day two.

We walked back to the train and rode down to Goose Island Brewery, the original. It was fabulous and fun, and for the first time in a long time, I was in no hurry to go anywhere. No to-do list to complete, no meetings to make. We walked around The Container Store, which I had never been to before, and browsed Crate and Barrel. wpid-img_20140525_151908106_hdr.jpg

Over the past few days I allowed myself to really let go and enjoy my time off. Since I normally take off Fridays and do not frequently have Saturday obligations…and since tomorrow is a holiday, I am really only taking off two days – today and Tuesday (to help a friend move). I think because it’s five whole days in a row, though, I’ve really allowed myself to let go more than normal. I thought having a “staycation” would be difficult, but it has been incredibly awesome. Mostly because we’ve planned out our days in advance, so we know what’s happening and I’m not tempted to work. Rest, relax, shop, dine, drink, laugh, play, walk – yes. Work – no.

Our friend Kate stayed to hang out with us and I made her a pair of earrings. We watched the Lorax and ate candy, and Jonathan made delicious hotdogs for dinner.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Sundays. I enjoy our normal routine, and it felt weird to not be on a schedule and to not see the people I usually see and do the things I normally do. But this abnormal Sunday has been super enjoyable, and I’m looking forward to two more days of restful bliss to prepare me for the awesomeness of summer ministry.

Praise be to God for Sabbath rest, for good friends and the opportunity to let go and relax.

