Higher than the mountains that I face
Stronger than the power of the grave
Constant through the trial and the change
One thing… Remains
One thing… Remains

[Chorus:]
Your love never fails, never gives up
Never runs out on me [3x]

On and on and on and on it goes
It overwhelms and satisfies my soul
And I never, ever, have to be afraid
One thing remains

[Bridge:]yourlove
In death, In life,
I’m confident and covered by
the power of Your great love
My debt is paid,
there’s nothing that can separate
my heart from Your great love…

I’ve had this song stuck in my head all day. “One Thing Remains” by Jesus Culture. It’s such a great song…even if it does have some substitutionary atonement in it (ew). It reminds me of a question my Board of Ordained Ministry asked me when coming up for commissioning…”what would you say to a youth who is struggling with the traditional theories of atonement?” I said something like, we can’t fully understand what God did or why God did it…but what we do know is that God is Love. And that God’s love outweighs any understanding or reason we can fathom. So it’s okay to struggle, to ask questions, to not fully understand; it’s okay to not agree with the traditional ways of explaining it. Because God’s love doesn’t depend on our right belief. It just is…Love…that never fails.
